[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Hey, check *THIS* out....



Come on, give the person's name and phone number if this has even a shred of
reality to it. 

You say you have registered trademarks and don't post the trademark
registration numbers.  You say you have a big name law firm under a huge
retainer and don't name the law firm.  You say you have permission to
officially announce this deal but don't name the person or give enough data
for anyone to trace it down (GAO is the Government Accounting Office, a large
agency but a very unlikely place to buy anything.  As far as I know, they
audit, they don't purchase, and they don't have anything particularly to do
with telecommunications.)

You must really thing the readers of this list are idiots to be taken in 
by all this.

Donald

 On Wed, 27 Nov 1996, John Palmer wrote:

> Date: Wed, 27 Nov 96 10:57:14 EST
> From: John Palmer <jp@PalmerOwns.The.Earth>
> To: iahc-discuss@iahc.org
> Subject: Hey, check *THIS* out....
> 
> 
> 
> Got a call yesterday from someone in the GAO. They offered me big
> (i mean MAJOR LEAGUE big) bucks for control of the GOV.USA SLD. 
> 
> They said basically, "Mr. Palmer, we know you don't want to have to
> deal with running an umbrella domain which will encompass the entire
> US Federal Government. Our office is willing to run that domain for
> the entire govt and our office has been authorized to offer you 
> $xxx,xxx for complete control of it".
> 
> I reminded them that USA was not an official TLD yet and that there were
> no guarentees about who would be running it, although we have a trademark 
> on it. The person said that they are aware of this and they KNOW what the
> outcome will be. In spite of my warning, they still made the offer.
> 
> I accepted. We signed a memorandum of agreement yesterday. I have permission
> to announce this. 
> 
> Well, Adrienne, we are looking more legit every day, are we not??
> 
> John Palmer
> (in a VERY VERY GOOD MOOD TODAY - yeeeahhhh)
> 
> P.S. - Yes I know it is legit as I called the federal information office
> in the yellow pages and was able to get to this person on the phone by
> dialing the GAO main number in Washington, DC and getting transferred around
> inside of their internal phone system till I got to this person.
> 
> Also, the official letterhead on all of our corespondence..... Perhaps
> I'll scan one of these items in and post it.
> 
> 

=====================================================================
Donald E. Eastlake 3rd     +1 508-287-4877(tel)     dee@cybercash.com
   318 Acton Street        +1 508-371-7148(fax)     dee@world.std.com
Carlisle, MA 01741 USA     +1 703-620-4200(main office, Reston, VA)
http://www.cybercash.com           http://www.eff.org/blueribbon.html