[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Apparent Fraud: Domain Name Survey
- Date: Thu, 28 Nov 1996 22:42:09 -0800 (PST)
- From: Michael Dillon <michael@memra.com>
- Subject: Re: Apparent Fraud: Domain Name Survey
On Fri, 29 Nov 1996, Donald E. Eastlake 3rd wrote:
> I suspect his guy is just abusing his ITU email address to pass himself off
> as an ITU Reseasrch Assistant while abusing the net with unsolicted email to
> drum up business and that the ITU and hkstar.com should cancel his accounts
> immediately and the ITU look into their policies on opening accounts for
> people as name@itu.ch. If the ITU wants to set up mail accounts for
> non-official people, maybe it should be name@unofficial.itu.ch or
> something... (I'm contacting other parties by direct mail.)
Dig deeper. Have a look at http://www.itu.int/TIES/ties-un.htm
$ nslookup -q=mx itu.ch
Server: sidhe.memra.com
Address: 10.10.10.1
itu.ch preference = 10, mail exchanger = sigma.itu.ch
sigma.itu.ch internet address = 156.106.128.30
$ telnet sigma.itu.ch 25
Trying 156.106.128.30...
Connected to sigma.itu.ch.
Escape character is '^]'.
220 sigma.itu.ch -- Server ESMTP (PMDF V5.0-6 #16074)
expn daniel.chun
250 <CHUN@SEIT.ITU.CH>
quit
221 Bye received. Goodbye.
SEIT is ties spelled backwards. Conceivably it is the same name translated
to French.
Telecom Info Exchange Services
Services d'Échange d'Informations Telecom
Sure sounds like a sleazy marketing deal to me. Yet another member of the
great Internet goldrush of '96.
Michael Dillon - ISP & Internet Consulting
Memra Software Inc. - Fax: +1-604-546-3049
http://www.memra.com - E-mail: michael@memra.com