[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Apparent Fraud: Domain Name Survey



Thanks.  By the way, I have no particular problem with people buying and
selling domain names assuming that the use the names gets put to is
appropirate for the part of the domain name tree where the name is.  But I
think policies which enable people to grab every name in sight in hopes of
selling it to the highest bidder, particularly at the top and second level of
the domain name space, would be very ill advised. 

Donald

On Fri, 29 Nov 1996, shaw wrote:

> Date: Fri, 29 Nov 1996 08:10:55 +0200
> From: shaw <ROBERT.SHAW@ITU.CH>
> To: iahc-discuss <iahc-discuss@iahc.org>
> Cc: "Donald E. Eastlake" <dee@cybercash.com>,
>     Jarle Martinsen <MARTINSEN@AM.ITU.CH>
> Subject: Re: Apparent Fraud: Domain Name Survey
> 
> Donald,
> 
> Thanks for pointing this out and contacting us immediately.
> 
> 1. The Domain Name Survey from Mr. Chun has absolutely nothing 
>    to do with the ITU.
> 
> 2. Mr Chun is not an employee of the ITU nor is there any 
>    related ITU 'study group'. 
> 
> 3. His account is one of about 6,000 external accounts granted to 
>    people around the world working in the telecommunications field 
>    to track ITU activities and assist interworking with us.
> 
> 4. We consider this an abuse of his ITU account.
> 
> 5. His account has been immediately terminated.
> 
> I apologize for any confusion this has created. I don't know to who 
> he has sent this solicitation but feel free to forward this note on 
> to others.
> 
> Robert
> ITU
> 
> >I suspect his guy is just abusing his ITU email address to pass himself off
> >as an ITU Reseasrch Assistant while abusing the net with unsolicted email to
> >drum up business and that the ITU and hkstar.com should cancel his accounts
> >immediately and the ITU look into their policies on opening accounts for 
> >people as name@itu.ch. If the ITU wants to set up mail accounts for 
> >non-official people, maybe it should be name@unofficial.itu.ch or 
> >something...   (I'm contacting other parties by direct mail.)
> >
> 
> 

=====================================================================
Donald E. Eastlake 3rd     +1 508-287-4877(tel)     dee@cybercash.com
   318 Acton Street        +1 508-371-7148(fax)     dee@world.std.com
Carlisle, MA 01741 USA     +1 703-620-4200(main office, Reston, VA)
http://www.cybercash.com           http://www.eff.org/blueribbon.html