[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: elvis@graceland.com: Re: Postel's Draft



Perry,

In a reply to my post below, I thought it was really funny at first,
but after reading the comments from others on the list, maybe you'd
better go ahead and report it.

I looked at the logs tonight. The message did come through our mail
server, but this isn't very suprising as graceland.com is aliased to
mail.higgs.net. The posting host is 204.250.49.206 which is also
elvis.graceland.com. No suprises there - this information is all
available via nslookup. There isn't a host there at the moment so
anyone could have used that IP address. The X-Authentication-Warning:
isn't a useful unique identifier either. Then there's the existing
forgery problem with that address anyway that's described in the draft.

Personally, I think it's a flippant response to a very obnoxious and
flippant posting by you, and shouldn't be taken seriously but I could
always be wrong. Anyone could've done it. There's certainly enough
experience on this list for anyone here to have sent it and made it
look the way it did.

Do whatever you need to do. I've never threatened to kill you. Also, I
suggest that you don't run around pretending to be an alien again,
unless you make it very, very clear that it's part of your therapy.

> At 9:52 PM -0500 1/1/97, Perry E. Metzger blathered:
>
> Gee Perry... I'd take it very seriously and call the police, the FBI,
> the Secret Service, your local congress critter, and as many TV & radio
> call-in shows as you can. They love people with stories like yours.
>
> Apparently, this message was also sent to <president@whitehouse.com> as
> the elvis account received an automated reply from there. They'll be
> wondering why you were masquerading as a alien and admitting that you
> are involved in some fraudulent scheme with a $2 billion defense
> contractor (which has already been convicted on several counts of
> felony fraud).
>
> Back on planet earth, in case anyone is interested in some light
> reading, there's an internet draft - draft-elvis-email-spoof-00.txt -
> about the widespread abuse from mail forgeries that this particular
> account gets.
>
> I have no idea who did this, but it looks like you've been well and
> truely had. Plus it looks like you set yourself up for it too.
>
> Happy New Year!
>
> P.S. We've seen several unsuccessful attempts at break-ins here over
> the christmas holiday.
>
> > Anyone here think this is an actual death threat from Simon Higgs (the
> > owner of graceland.com and most certainly the owner of the machine
> > that delivered this message to my mail server) or is it just chaff that
> > I should be ignoring?
> >
> > Perry
> >
> > ------- Forwarded Message
> >
> > Return-Path: simon@higgs.com
> > Received: (from smtp@localhost) by frankenstein.piermont.com
> >(8.7.5/8.7.3) id SAA09754 for <perry@piermont.com>; Wed, 1 Jan 1997
> >18:27:28 -0500 (EST)
> > Received: from mail.higgs.net ([204.250.49.10])
> > 	by frankenstein.piermont.com via xsa
> > 	id xma009750; Wed, 1 Jan 97 18:27:08 -0500
> > Received: from [204.250.49.206] by mail.higgs.net
> >  with ESMTP (Apple Internet Mail Server 1.1.1); Wed, 1 Jan 1997
> >15:27:45 -0800
> > Message-Id: <v03007800aef0a1350f66@[204.250.49.206]>
> > In-Reply-To: <199701011909.OAA05187@jekyll.piermont.com>
> > References: Your message of "Wed, 01 Jan 1997 21:33:50 EST."
> >    <Pine.BSD/.3.91.970101211754.3932A-100000@fastlane.ca>
> > Mime-Version: 1.0
> > Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
> > X-Authentication-Warning: [[Nintendo: Game Boy: Email]] didn't use
>a protocol
> > Date: Wed, 1 Jan 1997 15:27:37 -0800
> > To: perry@piermont.com
> > From: elvis@graceland.com
> > Subject: Re: Postel's Draft
> >
> > At 2:09 PM -0500 1/1/97, Perry E. Metzger wrote:
> >
> > > Marc Hurst writes:
> > > > Not only is this a sacriligous comment but it is insulting to
>claim this
> > > > internationaliztion exists when there are no members outside the United
> > > > States.
> > >
> > > Ah, you've caught on to our nefarious scheme! We've been claiming that
> > > many of the members of the IAHC don't live in the U.S., but that was
> > > of course just a front. For example, "Jun Murai" is not a real
> > > person. He's just an actor we hired. We got him, "Geoff Huston",
> > > "Robert Shaw", "Albert Tramposch", and "Hank Nussbacher" as a package
> > > deal from a rep theater company in Santa Cruz, California. They've
> > > been doing a really good job of pretending to be from outside the
> > > U.S. -- and they've been very competitive price wise. Although we have
> > > access to a large pool of money secretly maintained by the Grey Aliens
> > > via their "NSI" cover (the so-called $7million), it still pays to be
> > > economical. As you know, the Greys have been attempting for some time
> > > to get control of U.S. telecommunications infrastructure, and their
> > > work with certain former U.S. intelligence operatives via the "SAIC"
> > > organization (which they in fact secretly control) has yielded
> > > extraordinary benefits. Although this has alleviated some funding
> > > problems, the quantities expended in the course of the overarching
> > > worldwide conspiracy are always very large and budgets get tight.
> > >
> > > Just so you knowFrom owner-iahc-discuss  Thu Jan  2 04:48:09 1997
Received: (from majordomo@localhost) by mail.proper.com (8.8.4/8.7.3) id DAA03933 for iahc-discuss-bks; Thu, 2 Jan 1997 03:27:46 -0800 (PST)
X-Authentication-Warning: mail.proper.com: majordomo set sender to owner-iahc-discuss@imc.imc.org using -f
Received: from ns1.tabnet.net (root@web01.ntx.net [206.79.254.14]) by mail.proper.com (8.8.4/8.7.3) with ESMTP id DAA03929 for <iahc-discuss@iahc.org>; Thu, 2 Jan 1997 03:27:42 -0800 (PST)
Received: from compuserve.com.compuserve.com (hd90-141.compuserve.com [206.175.98.141]) by ns1.tabnet.net (8.7.6/8.7.3) with SMTP id DAA17071; Thu, 2 Jan 1997 03:25:49 -0800 (PST)
Message-Id: <199701021125.DAA17071@ns1.tabnet.net>
Comments: Authenticated sender is <german@german.net>
From: "Dietmar R. Rittner" <DR@german.net>
To: Michael Dillon <michael@memra.com>
Date: Thu, 2 Jan 1997 12:25:27 +0000
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-transfer-encoding: Quoted-printable
Subject: Re: Notes (fwd)
CC: iahc-discuss@iahc.org
References: <9701020129.AA00448@ntplx.net>
In-reply-to: <Pine.BSI.3.93.970101183606.11289R-100000@sidhe.memra.com>
X-mailer: Pegasus Mail for Win32 (v2.50)
Sender: owner-iahc-discuss@imc.org
Precedence: bulk

Mike Dillon wrote:
 However it is quite possibly that many companies who already
> have the infrastructure in place, will offer registry services. Companie=
s
> like IBM, Digital, MCS, Relcom and organizations like NIC-FR, RIPN,
> ISPA-UK etc.
> 
Michael,

So you believe country NICs should become registrars for new 
gTLDs? I don=B4t think so, there are already many complaints about 
several of these NICs. New gTLDs should be competition for existing 
TLDs, whether ISO or .com, otherwise they might not be needed at all.

IMO it should be added to the draft, that existing "official" 
registries are excluded from becoming registrars for the new gTLDs.

Yours,
Dietmar
--


Dietmar R Rittner - german.net
e-mail: DR@german.net