[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: elvis@graceland.com: Re: Postel's Draft




Simon Higgs writes:
> At 9:52 PM -0500 1/1/97, Perry E. Metzger blathered:
> I have no idea who did this, but it looks like you've been well and
> truely had.

Really?

whois graceland.com does this:

   H.E. & S.R. Consulting (GRACELAND3-DOM)
      P.O. Box 3083
      Van Nuys, CA 91407-3083
   
      Domain Name: GRACELAND.COM
   
      Administrative Contact:
         Higgs, Michelle  (MH264)  michelle@HIGGS.COM
         (818) 899-1875
      Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
         Higgs, Simon  (SH89)  simon@HIGGS.COM
         (818) 899-1875

And, on top of this piece of fun, we have the following:

   Return-Path: simon@higgs.com
   Received: (from smtp@localhost) by frankenstein.piermont.com (8.7.5/8.7.3) id SAA09754 for <perry@piermont.com>; Wed, 1 Jan 1997 18:27:28 -0500 (EST)
   Received: from mail.higgs.net ([204.250.49.10])
                               ****^^^^^^^^^^^^^****

Now, that was inserted by my mailer, based on the absolute IP address
of the counterparty SMTP. What is that machine?

$ nslookup 204.250.49.10
Server:  localhost.Piermont.COM
Address:  127.0.0.1

Name:    mail.higgs.net
Address:  204.250.49.10

Continuing on...

   	by frankenstein.piermont.com via xsa
   	id xma009750; Wed, 1 Jan 97 18:27:08 -0500
   Received: from [204.250.49.206] by mail.higgs.net
               ****^^^^^^^^^^^^^^****

What is that machine?
$ nslookup 204.250.49.206
Server:  localhost.Piermont.COM
Address:  127.0.0.1

Name:    elvis.graceland.com
Address:  204.250.49.206

Now, just in case, lets make absolutely sure we all know who controls
network block 204.250.49.0, shall we?

$ whois 204.250.49.0
EarthLink Networks (NETBLK-SPRINT-CCFA3F) SPRINT-CCFA3F
                                                   204.250.32.0 - 204.250.63.0
Simon Higgs (NETBLK-HIGGS-NET)  HIGGS-NET        204.250.49.0 - 204.250.49.255
US Sprint (NETBLK-SPRINT-BLKD)  SPRINT-BLKD        204.248.0.0 - 204.251.255.0

Looks like HIGGS-NET pretty much covers that /24, doesn't it.

As I have said, unless someone did something really spectacularly
hard, the message was delivered from a machine Mr. Higgs certainly
owns and controls, and he certainly *is* the listed contact for
"graceland.com".

So, as to Mr. Higgs' comment:
> I have no idea who did this, but it looks like you've been well and
> truely had.

I'd say that there is a substantial probability of inaccuracy in that
last comment.


Perry