[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: elvis@graceland.com: Re: Postel's Draft



On Thu, 2 Jan 1997, Simon Higgs wrote:

> At 9:20 AM -0800 1/2/97, Michael Dillon wrote:
> 
> > > > Received: from [204.250.49.206] by mail.higgs.net
> > > >  with ESMTP (Apple Internet Mail Server 1.1.1); Wed, 1 Jan 1997
> > > >15:27:45 -0800
> > > > Message-Id: <v03007800aef0a1350f66@[204.250.49.206]>
> >
> > This makes it appear that the message did indeed originate at
> > graceland.com and was *NOT* forwarded from some other site. In other
> > words, either AIMS is broken or you really did write the message.
> >
> 
> I think you need some help with this. The message was sent from a host
> using the IP address 204.250.49.206 via our mail server at
> mail.higgs.net (204.250.49.10).

That's what I said. So who operates 204.250.49.206? Let's find out the
machine's name first.

$ nslookup 204.250.49.206
Server:  sidhe.memra.com
Address:  10.10.10.1

Name:    elvis.graceland.com
Address:  204.250.49.206

OK, now who runs the graceland.com domain?

$ whois graceland.com
H.E. & S.R. Consulting (GRACELAND3-DOM)
   P.O. Box 3083
   Van Nuys, CA 91407-3083

   Domain Name: GRACELAND.COM

   Administrative Contact:
      Higgs, Michelle  (MH264)  michelle@HIGGS.COM
      (818) 899-1875
   Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Higgs, Simon  (SH89)  simon@HIGGS.COM
      (818) 899-1875                      

> The message
> *DID NOT* originate on the mail server.

I never said that it did. The AIMS machine reports that it received the
message from elvis.graceland.com (also one of your hosts) and does
not indicate any further path information. Therefore it would appear that
elvis.graceland.com is the originator of the message and did not act as a
relay host.


Michael Dillon                   -               Internet & ISP Consulting
Memra Software Inc.              -                  Fax: +1-604-546-3049
http://www.memra.com             -               E-mail: michael@memra.com