[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: (none)
I object to that change. We have gone along with your requests and have
not pre-registered any names. We have the technology and marketing budget
that could have been used to attract several thousand to tens of thousands
of registrants over the last six months. The lost revenue can be easily
demonstrated to be significant.
We at GlobeComm have supported your efforts from the beginning. We have
offered our technology to create and host the shared CORE database and
deliver the necessary Registration software to Registrars. Don Heath
himself asked us not to put up a site that pre-registers domains. All
documents up to the most recent said that you will not accept anyone as a
Registrar who has taken domain names for the new gTLDs in advance of being
a Registrar.
You are now rewarding the companies who ignored your rules and attempting
to financially punish the companies who have gone along with your process.
Please retract this immediately. I am sure that most of the companies who
plan on becoming Registrars will agree with me, because the great majority
of them have also gone along with your rules that prohibited taking domain
names in advance of being granted the right to be a Registrar.
Bob Helfant
GlobeComm, Inc.
At 09:02 AM 6/20/97 +0200, Hank Nussbacher wrote:
>At 10:10 AM 6/20/97 -0400, Sandy C. Kronenberg wrote:
>>WHAT!!!!...How can they preregister? what is going on here?
>
>You are basing your info from the draft application form V11, right? It
>says near the top that it is a draft. During our discussions between iPOC
>and PAB, the item about preregistrations has come up and it has been removed
>from the current draft application form (internal still).
>
>If any potential registrar guarantees pre-registration they will be sued for
>fraud by the person requesting the new domain, when they don't get it.
>Review all the cavaets Netnames uses when accepting an application for a new
>gTLD. Any other company can do the same.
>
>>
>>
>>>Note that NetNames have already broken the rules by accepting
>>>applications and "preregistering" in the IAHC domain names. According
>>>to the rules this disqualifies them. Watch! Also, in the past they have
>>>reserved (and no doubt will continue) domain names for profitable
>>>resale later. They are fairly discrete about it unlike some other
>>>sharks out there. They are only here for the money and not the good of
>>>the net in spite of what you hear them say.
>>
>>_________________________________________________________
>>Sandy C. Kronenberg phone (248)
>855-1580
>>Defrag Inc. fax
>(248) 855-1041
>>
>>-----BEGIN PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----
>>Version: 4.5
>>
>>mQCOAjOEOUEAAAIEAQFZZCIH7bbNPF8JkNB/K1Y2rBrP71m6U+SwaK2qMzylXOaj
>>oxr4h9il9rXGGdqle72tpjHkvlE4Unpn8jeeHkbW9EEpZnL5zT8pmIDZWEhwCgiH
>>VV78bBkLoRcKIpTaO2rtE3YvuIzLho5PKPEzuEdjHzj8THxb9GG9h96B/vRfjQAF
>>EbQmU2FuZHkgQy4gS3JvbmVuYmVyZyA8c2FuZHlAZGVmcmFnLmNvbT4=
>>=Gpkh
>>-----END PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----
>>
>>
>Hank Nussbacher
>iPOC member
>[The views expressed above are the authors alone and may not reflect
>the view of other iPOC members]
>
>
- References:
- Re: (none)
- From: Hank Nussbacher <hank@ibm.net.il>