[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Advertising on WHOIS



Ellen,

  As to your question below, no I wouldn't.  It looks like
pre-registration
for someone went pretty good.  

  This is obviously bad policy.  I have done any number of Whois
requests and found a HUGE number of inadquacies.  I wonder if or
how they actualy occured.  Maybe someone on the gTLD-MoU group
can answer some of these concerns?  Comments?

Ellen Rony wrote:
> 
> WHOIS performs as an extremely useful database for research on name
> similarities.  However, tonight I encountered these records in a WHOIS
> check.
> 
> If you want this domain, please contact me. INTERLAW3-DOM       INTERLAW.NET
> If you want this domain, please contact me. INTERLAWYER2-DOM    INTERLAWYER.NET
> If you want this domain, please contact me. INTERLAWYER3-DOM    INTERLAWYER.ORG
> 
> So I ran a check "DO If you want."
> Well, there are HUNDREDS--all registered to the same person.
> 
>    Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
>       Mehrotra, Amit  AM2876  amit_mehrotra@GEOCITIES.COM
> 
>    Billing Contact:
>       Mehrotra, Amit  AM2876  amit_mehrotra@GEOCITIES.COM
> 
> And look at some of the names registered to: "If you want this domain,
> please contact me"
> JUPITER.ORG
> STAR-WARS.NET
> WASHINGTON-POST.ORG
> WASHINGTON-POST.NET
> WASHINGTON-POST.COM
> THEWASHINGTONPOST.COM
> UNITEDSTATESOFAMERICA.NET
> JIMMYCARTER.COM
> JIMMYCARTER.NET
> JIMMYCARTER.ORG   (That doesn't leave former Pres. Jimmy Carter many options
>                         if he wants to use his own name except to pay a ransom
>                                or register in a new TLD
> MERRYCHRISTMAS.ORG
> SUPERBOWLXXXXVIII.COM
> SUPERBOWLXXXXIX.COM
> NIXON.ORG
> BOFA.NET
> STARWARS.ORG
> 
> Many individual domain holders with a legitimate nexus to a name have
> fought battles to keep NSI's hands off the domain while a trademark
> challenge was pending.  Yet here is an example of blatant abuse, and NSI is
> asleep at the wheel.
> 
> Would you invest in a company that can't seem to tell the difference
> between abuse and legitimate use of a domain name???  Not in a New York
> minute.
> 
> Ellen Rony
> Director, Alexander Works
> 21 Juno Road * Tiburon, CA * 94920
> 
> Phone:  415/435-5010
> Fax:    415/435-5010
> Email:  erony@marin.k12.ca.us

-- 
Jeffrey A. Williams
DIR. Internet Network Eng/SR. Java Development Eng.
Information Eng. Group. IEG. INC. 
Phone :913-294-2375 (v-office)
E-Mail jwkckid1@ix.netcom.com