[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Warehousing, TM violations & the new gTLD's



Hi,

I would like to introduce myself to all of you.  My name is Chris 
Post and I have been following the discussions on this list for a 
while now because I am interested in domain names in general and the new
gTLD's in particular.

While I have been observing these discussions and the different 
viewpoints, I have also been doing some digging to see what some of 
the players in this saga have to gain out of these new gTLD's.  What 
I have found has really irritated me and I would like to share just 
the tip of the iceberg here with you.

Some of the companies that are being represented in this discussion 
about the new gTLD's are 'pirates' themselves!  I was shocked to find 
that Globecomm, which is the parent company of Best Domains
(http://www.bestdomains.com/company/company.htm), has 
registered literally dozens (that I could find) of domain names that 
obviously belong to other companies.  Here is just one of the worst 
examples:

2K Research Group/ Intelecast tm INTEL3-DOM
   710 Churchill Drive
   Suite 111
   Chapel Hill, NC 27514
   US

   Domain Name: INTEL.ORG

   Administrative Contact:
      Kimball, Jonathan D  JDK22  jonkimball@AOL.COM
      1-919-786-2571 (FAX) 1-919-881-2095
   Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Cool, The Master of  CTM-ORG  Domains@BESTDOMAINS.COM
      +1 (212) 425-3477
Fax- +1 (212) 425-3487
   Billing Contact:
      Kimball, Jonathan D  JDK22  jonkimball@AOL.COM
      1-919-786-2571 (FAX) 1-919-881-2095

   Record last updated on 12-Aug-97.
   Record created on 22-Sep-96.
   Database last updated on 14-Aug-97 04:38:04 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS1.GLOBECOMM.NET            207.51.48.20
   NS2.GLOBECOMM.NET            207.51.48.22


This domain is being listed for sale by Globecomm for $15,000!!!!  
See for yourself at:
http://www.bestdomains.com/cgi-baw/search/searchlist?stlet=i

I feel that this is highly inappropriate behavior for a company that 
want's to be given the important responsibility of being a registrar. 
Warehousing is highly questionable, particularly for a potential registrar,
and Globecomm should know better then to try to sell domains that are obvious
trademark violations!  To be fair, Globecomm is not the only pirate I found 
involved with this mailing list, just the most active as far as I can tell.

Am I the only one that thinks this is questionable?

Sincerely,
Chris Post

cp15@cornell.edu
Department of Soil, Crop & Atmospheric Sciences
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853