[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Warehousing, TM violations & the new gTLD's
- Date: Thu, 14 Aug 1997 16:41:47 +0100
- From: Jeff Williams <jwkckid1@ix.netcom.com>
- Subject: Re: Warehousing, TM violations & the new gTLD's
Christopher,
Glad you posted this!
Christopher J. Post wrote:
>
> Hi,
>
> I would like to introduce myself to all of you. My name is Chris
> Post and I have been following the discussions on this list for a
> while now because I am interested in domain names in general and the new
> gTLD's in particular.
>
> While I have been observing these discussions and the different
> viewpoints, I have also been doing some digging to see what some of
> the players in this saga have to gain out of these new gTLD's. What
> I have found has really irritated me and I would like to share just
> the tip of the iceberg here with you.
>
> Some of the companies that are being represented in this discussion
> about the new gTLD's are 'pirates' themselves! I was shocked to find
> that Globecomm, which is the parent company of Best Domains
> (http://www.bestdomains.com/company/company.htm), has
> registered literally dozens (that I could find) of domain names that
> obviously belong to other companies. Here is just one of the worst
> examples:
>
> 2K Research Group/ Intelecast tm INTEL3-DOM
> 710 Churchill Drive
> Suite 111
> Chapel Hill, NC 27514
> US
>
> Domain Name: INTEL.ORG
>
> Administrative Contact:
> Kimball, Jonathan D JDK22 jonkimball@AOL.COM
> 1-919-786-2571 (FAX) 1-919-881-2095
> Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
> Cool, The Master of CTM-ORG Domains@BESTDOMAINS.COM
> +1 (212) 425-3477
> Fax- +1 (212) 425-3487
> Billing Contact:
> Kimball, Jonathan D JDK22 jonkimball@AOL.COM
> 1-919-786-2571 (FAX) 1-919-881-2095
>
> Record last updated on 12-Aug-97.
> Record created on 22-Sep-96.
> Database last updated on 14-Aug-97 04:38:04 EDT.
>
> Domain servers in listed order:
>
> NS1.GLOBECOMM.NET 207.51.48.20
> NS2.GLOBECOMM.NET 207.51.48.22
>
> This domain is being listed for sale by Globecomm for $15,000!!!!
> See for yourself at:
> http://www.bestdomains.com/cgi-baw/search/searchlist?stlet=i
>
> I feel that this is highly inappropriate behavior for a company that
> want's to be given the important responsibility of being a registrar.
> Warehousing is highly questionable, particularly for a potential registrar,
> and Globecomm should know better then to try to sell domains that are obvious
> trademark violations! To be fair, Globecomm is not the only pirate I found
> involved with this mailing list, just the most active as far as I can tell.
>
> Am I the only one that thinks this is questionable?
Not at all. Several on this list have pointed this problem out
on several occasions. It just seems that there is denial in some
pro gTLD-MoU sectors of folks on this list. That is unfortunate.
You might want to send your findings to some of the internet
News Groups like CNET, MSNBC, ect. I am sure they will fine this
information intresting. And it may help to expose these activities
to a wider and larger audiance.
>
> Sincerely,
> Chris Post
>
> cp15@cornell.edu
> Department of Soil, Crop & Atmospheric Sciences
> Cornell University
> Ithaca, NY 14853
REgards,
--
Jeffrey A. Williams
DIR. Internet Network Eng/SR. Java Development Eng.
Information Eng. Group. IEG. INC.
Phone :913-294-2375 (v-office)
E-Mail jwkckid1@ix.netcom.com