[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Re:(Newbie Query)
- Date: Mon, 01 Dec 1997 17:22:46 +0000
- From: Bob Allisat <bob@wtv.net>
- Subject: Re: Re:(Newbie Query)
I wrote: ... Anyone who is fool enough
: to drop their hard earned cash into such
: a situation probably has too much of it
: anyways. Don't say you weren't warned.
:
: Remember as well that some 6,000 people
: have registered .WEB domains with IODesign's
: registry before you. And that numerous .ART
: registrations have occured as well. You stand
: a good chance of losing your money. CORE is
: no more or no less a legitimate Domain Name
: Registry than is IODesign, Alternic or any
: of the others.
Stephen Cole wrote:
> So, Bob, what would you suggest to someone who just wants to get
> their name up in (rather dim) lights? How should we best proceed?
Well the precedent is already set.
Witness HIGGS.COM, SEXTON.ORG and
POSTEL.NET (just joking about that
last one... sorry!). Regardless if
THE MAN wanted to pseudo-immortalize
his highness with that Secondary
Domain Name so be it. The same may
occur on Top Level Name Space. Who's
to say .ALLISAT, .COLE or .PLOTZSHRANK
are not as legitimate as .COM, .XXX,
.FCN or .WTV? Not me. Seems okay to
me. If some fool out there will go
to all that expense and effort more
power to them. That's life, eh? Now
if they want *ALL* Top Level Domains
that is another discussion.
TeleVirtually Yours,
Bob Allisat
Director, World TeleVirtual Network http://www.wtv.net
PO Box 191 St E Toronto Canada M6H 4E2 bob@wtv.net
(416) 534-1999 http://www.wtv.net/portfolio.html